Warp has announced a pair of Broadcast demo collections, saying they will be the final releases from the duo. Spell Blanket, out May 3, comprises demos that Trish Keenan and James Cargill were working on for the duo’s fifth album, between 2006 and 2009, before Keenan’s sudden death in 2011 at the age of 42.

Distant Call, out September 28, is a collection of demos for songs that appeared on Haha Sound, Tender Buttons, and The Future Crayon. It also features two early demos that Cargill discovered later, “Come Back to Me” and “Please Call to Book,” the latter featuring lyrics submitted by fans for the band’s “Let’s Write a Song” project.

Below, check out the albums’ respective tracklists and listen to “Follow the Light,” from Spell Blanket, and “Tears in the Typing Pool [Demo],” from Distant Call.

Revisit Jess Harvell’s obituary for Trish Keenan.

Spell Blanket – Collected Demos 2006 – 2009:

01 The Song Before the Song Comes Out
02 March of the Fleas
03 Greater Than Joy
04 Mother Plays Games
05 My Marble Eye
06 Roses Red
07 Hip Bone to Hip Bone
08 Running Back to Me
09 I Blink You Blink
10 Infant Girl
11 I Run in Dreams
12 Luminous Image
13 A Little Light
14 Hairpin Memories
15 My Body
16 Follow the Light
17 Tunnel View
18 Where Are You?
19 Singing Game
20 I Want to Be Fine
21 The Games You Play
22 Grey Grey Skies
23 Puzzle
24 The Clock Is on Fire
25 Petal Alphabet
26 Tell Table
27 Fatherly Veil
28 Dream Power
29 Heartbeat
30 Call Sign
31 Crone Motion
32 Sleeping Bed
33 Join in Together
34 Colour in the Numbers
35 I Am the Bridge
36 Spirit House

Source link